top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSophie

Introduction To Me

Hello, and welcome to my blog! My name is Sophie, and i have been on a mental health journey for as long as i can remember (roughly 13 years)


It all started when i wanted to explore how self harm feels, sad i know, but it is the only thing i remember from how this journey started. I remember panicking afterwards and telling my mum i scraped my arm in P.E at school. She obviously didn't believe me, and searched my room for the offending article i used the next day whilst i was at school. I remember getting home the next day after school to her looking very mad with me. She told me to sit down as she wanted to have a chat with me. I remember my heart pounding at this point wondering what it was i had done wrong. She started off by holding up this offending article, which i will not name for trigger reasons, and asking me why i had it hidden in my room and what i used it for. I sheepishly told her what she wanted to know and she lost it. She compared me to people with Anorexia, a Drug Addict and proceeded to tell me about all the infections i could catch and that i'm now going to have to get another tetanus injection (she knows how petrified i am of needles). After she had done shouting at me and making me cry, she dragged me into the car by my poorly arm, and set off to the gym where my dad was at the time. She dragged me into the busy gym to find my dad and yelled above all the gym noise to him what i had done. Obviously this was very traumatic and embarrassing for me, as people looked over and overheard what was being said.


I don't remember what happened after that, as i obviously went numb. All i remember is going home and crying myself to sleep. After this had happened, i vowed never to let my parents know what was going on in my head, and made sure to keep all my self harm as covered up as possible.


So yeah, this is the earliest memory i have of my mental health. I will be creating various blogs on my mental health journey from this point onward in between blogging about my Prozac journey, so if you are interested in reading more about my life please make sure you subscribe to stay notified. If you have any questions for me, or need somebody to talk to, please feel free to drop me a message and i will reply to every single one!


Thank you for taking the time to read this blog!




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page